Roasted Hasselback Potato Recipe

I tested out Hasselback potatoes this afternoon, it’s a winner.

The name, it sounds so random but apparently it originated from the Hasselbacken hotel and restaurant in Stockholm.  It’s been around some time, but seems to be making a come back.

There’s plenty of recipes out there for these special little spuds, but I’ve had plenty of people asking for a recipe on it so I’ve provided one below.

Prep Time 15min, Cook Time 45min – Some quick math and we come up with 1hr total time.

Ingredients:

  • As many potatoes as you’d like – i used russets, any potato works.
  • 1 Head of garlic
  • Fresh thyme
  • Olive Oil
  • 1 Red onion
  • Salt & Pepper

Tools;

  • Sharp knife
  • Two wooden/plastic spoons
  • Cast iron skillet  – i’m partial to my lodge cast irons, they’re inexpensive and are the workhorse of my kitchen

Preparation:

Preheat oven to 425 f.  Wash the spuds and begin slicing into about 1/8th inch strips, not to cut all the way through.  I found that if you use two wooden spoons on either side of the potato as you’re cutting, it provides a way to stop you from cutting all the way through.

Cut with Spoons

Once you have all the potatoes cut, peel the red onion and slice it into wedges. Take whole head of garlic and cut the top off so the cloves are exposed. Place potatoes, garlic, and red onion in cast iron skillet or similar dish for roasting. Add sprigs of fresh thyme, brush potatoes liberally with olive oil, season everything with salt and pepper.

Prebake

Place into preheated oven.  After about 30 minutes, baste again with more olive oil.  Once potatoes have fanned out nicely (about 45 minutes in total) They’re ready.  Finish with a final brushing of olive oil, fresh cracked pepper, and more salt.  Serve as a side, or as we did a main dish.  Don’t forget to pluck those delicious little garlic cloves and smother those on the potatoes as well (you won’t regret it).

ME - Hasselback Potato

Let me know if you guys have tried the recipe, if you’ve had success, or if it was a complete failure.

Final2

.End.

10 thoughts on “Roasted Hasselback Potato Recipe

  1. Leland

    This post of yours caught my eye today when @chefsroll posted only a picture. I had all the ingredients at home, tweaked it and made it for dinner. Josh, thank you so much for sharing! Hasselback was one of the most delectable ways I’ve ever prepared potatoes. We taste with our eyes first so, Josh, thank you so much for sharing! Big deal for me as someone working my way into the food industry as a vegetarian cook. I took some good photos of the dish as well. You’ve gained a faithful follower.

    Very best,

    Leland

    Like

  2. arthurkadar

    Excellent! Thank you Josh for this post. I’ve tried the recipe with and without the potatoes skin. I prefered the ones without. And my girlfriend was more atracted by the ones with the skin. I also changed the olive oil for butter. I think Sweden has one of the best butters in the world so if you have a good butter it will give more taste.

    All the best and can’t wait to see more of your posts.

    Like

Leave a Reply

