Big Mac Style Burger

 

I’m trying to eat ‘healthier’, so I had a Big Mac…  Sounds pretty damn stupid, I know, but I watched “Cooked” by Michael Pollan on Netflix the other day that said eat anything you want, just cook it yourself. 

I thought it was a pretty brilliant, simple thought “eat anything you want, just cook it yourself” – I can do that, I want to do that, but I also want a Big Mac… So I setoff, to make a Big Mac myself.  

Aristotle must have been talking about Big Macs when he said “The whole is better than the sum of its parts” There’s nothing really special about the ingredients, you’ll probably have almost everything you’d need laying around the house.  It’s just a burger, with normal burger stuff on it, aside from the Mac sauce, but that’s simple too.   Let’s break it down.

Two all-beef patties – I used ground chuck 80/20 blend, portioned into 2oz patties.  Make sure they’re super thin, form them in between two pieces of plastic wrap.  I grilled mine, but because the patties are so small and thin, it’s probably easier to use a skillet.  salt and pepper them.

_MG_1331

Special Sauce – Simple ingredients: 1/2 c mayo, 1tsp paprika, 1/2 tsp garlic powder, 1 tsp white vinegar, 2 tsp of finely diced onion, 1 tbs pickle relish.  Mix all the ingredients together, make ahead and store in fridge until ready.

Lettuce – Iceberg, shredded

Cheese – one slice of the processed yellow stuff we call American cheese, I even slap it on the burger without melting it just like they do.

Pickles – hamburger dill pickles

Onions – I live in the south, just 30 minutes south of Georgia so Vidalia is my choice, but we’re still a few weeks away from Vidalia season.  Any sweet yellow will do, just make sure they’re finely diced.  

Sesame seed bun – Find the plumpest bun you can find, because we’re not going to sacrifice any bottom buns to make the classic “club” middle bun.  Because I bought the largest buns I could find, I just cut the gigantic top half down the center.  Plenty of bun to go around, and no sacrifcial bun.. toast it.

_MG_1320

_MG_1318

Once you have your mise en place, its assemble time.  We’ll start from the bottom. Bottom bun > sauce > lettuce > pickle > onion > patty > cheese > club bun > sauce > lettuce > pickle > onion > patty > (i added more sauce here) > top bun.

Screenshot_2016-03-25-19-21-36-1

There ya have it, a classic Big Mac inspired burger only… better.  It didn’t take much time, no longer than it would have taken to cook any other dinner.  I guess I could have stuck with the “cook it yourself” a little better.  Next time I’ll make the bun from scratch or something.

I really get what Michael is trying to say though; eating terrible food is too easy for us these days.  You can easily eat a Big Mac twice a day, it’s so easy to do so, and many people do.  Having to make things yourself limits yourself to only wanting to do it every once and a while, I’m damn sure not going to make this every day, twice a day, just every once and a while, and having one every once and while isn’t too bad for you.  

I do recommend watching Cooked on Netflix.  I actually just bought his book in which the documentary comes from Cooked: A Natual History of Transformation. If its anything like the documentary, which it’s pretty obvious it will be, it’ll be a good read.

In closing, if you want to be healthier, eat a big mac.  Just make it yourself.

Don’t forget to check out my new Youtube page.  It doesn’t have any videos of me, but it does have great cooking tips, and recipes to try!  

And I’ve added a new share button below which will share it directly to the Yummly app.  If you haven’t checked out Yummly.com you should.   It has over 1mil recipes that you can search by ingredient, diet, allergy, nutrition, price, cuisine, time, taste, meal courses and sources. You should check it out; start by checking out some recipes I’ve added HERE

End.

Leave a Reply

